Air Compressor Rehab

My porter Cable C2005 150 PSI pancake air compressor valve stopped holding air while we finished up the Keel repairs.   I thought I was going to have to buy a new compressor, but YouTube to the rescue!  All I had to do was replace the value.  You’re supposed to open this after every use so water doesn’t get left in the air tank and rust it from the inside out.  I’m pretty good about doing it, but I guess the valves just go bad no matter what you do.

Replacing was pretty simple.  Locate the value, identify the compressor type, and go to amazon and buy a new one.  I splurged for Prime membership for the free shipping and use the heck out of it.

Air compressor valve

Air compressor valve

Tools needed are a replacement value, a 9/16 wrench, and some plumber’s tape.

tools needed

tools needed

Take of the old value

Take of the old value

compare old and new valves

compare old and new valves

That hook like thing on the old valve is a gasket that is past its lifetime.  Notice the new valve doesn’t have one.  I think it’s inside the valve.

Wrap plumber’s tape around the new valve threads a couple of times and screw it in, tighten it and test.  Done!

Job complete!

Job complete!

 

2 thoughts on “Air Compressor Rehab

  1. I didn’t know one was supposed to open this after every use. I will have to do this on my hot dog compressor. Thanks for the tip.

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

