Book Review: Wild – From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed

Wild-LostToFoundOnThePacificCrestTrail

Wild-LostToFoundOnThePacificCrestTrail

I’ve been super busy this spring and summer working a second job.  (hence not much boat progress) One of the ways I’ve stayed sane is to read books.

I like to read ebooks as I’m relaxing in bed before going to sleep.  When I read a book that I really like, I post a review here.  Granted, my “reviews” are not all that specific, and I never give a summary of the book.  I just tell you how I felt about it.  Follow the image hyperlink if you want a summary.

I find books pretty much at random on my public library site.  I browse through the books like I browse through Netflix listings.   Sometimes I never even read an actual book or watch a movie.  All I do is browse and read the synopsis.  Back in the video tape rental days, I used to check out the preview tapes and just watch them. I think the previews are the best parts of going to the movies.  No point in seeing the full movie anymore.  If I’ve seen the preview, it’s almost certain I’ll never go see the movie.  Yes, I’m strange.

Anyway, one of my interests is backpacking.  It’s been a long time since I did it, but I’m feeling the urge to go again. That’s probably why I picked up the book.  And yes, this book is about backpacking the Pacific Crest Trail.  But it’s more than that.  It’s about self reliance, growth, self understanding, life review.  All those things and more.  The author is a good writer.  She tells a compelling story.  There are all the things that make up a life.  Humor, sadness, love, loss, adventure.  The book didn’t make me want to dust off my backpack, but I did spend some time thinking thinking and reflecting about the story.  Maybe that’s what I really liked about the book.  It stayed with me.

It also made me consider what it is to be a writer, and what do I need to do to write a compelling story.

Anyway, I’ve read enough books to know when I see a good one.  This is a good one.  If you’re the least bit interested in the topic.  You’ll probably like the book.  I’m not surprised they made a movie of it.

I haven’t seen the movie, but I’ll probably watch the preview…

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Wild – From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed

    • I did too! I haven’t had a long enough sailing trip to have an excuse to not shower, but I’ve done plenty of stinky hiking! Thanks for dropping by the blog. I’ll try to keep it interesting for you. You also might like “Desperate Voyage” by John Caldwell. It’s a great sailing adventure book, I can’t believe I haven’t done a review for it.

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

