The second best day

They say the two best days in a boat owners life are the day he buys a boat, and the day he sells it.  I’ve done both and not felt that way, but this time I have to admit a bit of relief.

You may recall a few posts back in my “3 year anniversary” post where I outlined steps for success in getting some boat progress.  Step 1 was getting the Sunfish off my “to-do” list.  I’m happy to say the task is complete.  I posted the ad on Craigslist Sunday night, by Saturday at 11:30 am  I had a firm commitment by someone to come get it, and by 3 pm she was gone.  I suspect offering it for free may have had something to do with how fast she went, but at least she’s going to a good home.  Howard in Slaughter Beach, Delaware has a Sunfish fleet of about 20 boats and said that every year he fixes up a couple of Sunfish and gets someone new sailing in it.  I’m very happy about how that worked out.

Sunfish Departure

Since Mrs. G at Boca Ciega Yacht Club had been so nice to give me the Sunfish I do feel bad about not following through and finishing the job.  Unfortunately, work, sailing and the Catalina 22 have sort of taken over my priorities.  I am in a very different place when I got the boat originally, so sometimes you have to re-prioritize.  This is one of those times.

Next step in getting the Catalina 22 ready is to get those darn Keel weldments glassed in!  I was going to go the professional route, but this weekend at the West River Sailing Club annual meeting I got an offer of help!  So stay tuned, we’ll make progress there  – soon I hope.

Speaking of WRSC, here is a picture from the roof while I was at the fall cleanup day.  It sure is a beautiful place.

Fall cleanup day at WRSC - view from the roof

Fall cleanup day at WRSC – view from the roof

 

2 thoughts on “The second best day

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

