Book Review – Click Millionaires: Work Less, Live More with an Internet Business You Love

 

I read a lot.  A heck-uv-a-lot.  I’ve been known to start reading a book on the commute home and stay up all night reading till I’ve completed it.   About a year ago I bought a laptop for work, and Dell tossed in a small tablet  (a “Venue” 7 inch) with the package.  I wasn’t expecting much but I sure have enjoyed it.  It has a full android operating system, so it has the clock, browser, games, etc. and the “Kindle” ebook reader app.  Definitely love that Kindle app.

Dell Venu 7 tablet

Dell Venu 7 tablet

I did a lot of searches for “Free science fiction download” and read a ton of Sci-Fi. (Tor is a great source for free and pay fiction)  I found out that the typical business model is to get Book 1 of a series for free, and the author hopes you like it enough to buy books 2,3,4,5, 6 & 7!  (I’ve done this, but only once!)

Recently, I discovered that my local library website has the capability to let me borrow e-books using the tablet.  Since then I have about 100 books in my queue.  I can have 10 checked out at any one time, I get them for 2 weeks, and they automatically “Return”.  No more late fees!  It even has the ability to automatically check out a book for me when something on my hold list becomes available.  Plus, the variety is pretty wide.  I have 2 main categories I like.  Non-Fiction & Science Fiction.  In Non-Fiction I tend to stick with business, history, and biographies (and sailboat repair of course!)

A book I recently finished is “Click Millionaires” by Scott Fox.

Click Millionaires

Click Millionaires

He had some great advice about setting up a website that fills a niche and provides income.  The main point of the book is that all you need is enough interest in a particular niche topic to provide other people interested in it with quality information and services.   I develop large enterprise web applications for a living, so the thought of having one of my own making me money without me commuting to the job is definitely appealing.

The book is full of practical advice and places to get more information and support.  To me, this did not come across as a hard sell.  I’ve read other books in this genre, and wound up feeling that all I did was read a very long commercial.  In the case of Click Millionaires, it really just feels like an extensive list of directions.

Unfortunately, the book has already returned itself.  I am actually considering buying it (gasp) to have it around to refer to.  A good bit of the book is devoted to deciding what niche to occupy, and then how to come up with meaningful content that has people coming back to visit the site.

Also, from what I remember, these niche websites can generate income by

  1. advertising and “clicks”
  2. subscriptions
  3. products  (ebooks, consumer products, consulting fees etc.)

First build your audience with valuable content, then convert them to customers with products that they want and need.  There were lots of examples of successful niche websites, so it seems withing a normal persons ability to do.

For a brief (very brief) moment I did consider that maybe the CapnRehab site might evolve into something like a niche website, but I think that the niche of my family, friends, and a few sailing bloggers that I’ve enticed over here might be a wee bit small of a customer base to support the lavish lifestyle I’d like to become accustomed to.  Instead, I’ve got business website that’s coming along and has actually made it’s first dollar before the site is even operational.  Very excited about that!

In summary, if you’re at all interested in having a website that makes you money then I think you owe it to yourself to read this book.  If you do, let me know that you did and how it’s going!

 

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

