3 Year Anniversary

My how time flies.  As of today this blog has been around for 3 years.  I haven’t accomplished anything major with it, but I’ve kept in touch with family and friends, and made new ones (like “Curtis in Alaska” and the “Stingy Sailor”).  I’ve done almost 200 posts and had them read almost 13,000 times.

I thought this blog was going to be about restoring my first sailboat, but it’s turned out to be more about things I’m interested in and what I’m up to.  (Which has MOSTLY been sailing)

I wound up selling that first boat, and have been given 3 more.  I gave one of those away, and the other two of which are in the process of repair in my garage.

I’ve long been a person that likes to do things myself, and I consider “puttering”  in the garage and drinking beer a fun afternoon.  It’s even more fun when a boat is involved.  Jobs, moves, work and sailing have all colluded to keep me out of the garage.  The thought of taking something to a professional has always been like admitting defeat.  There is the cost to consider as well, you can pay to get one job done, or get the parts and supplies and do many more by using your own labor.

Unfortunately, I’ve reached a point in both boats where I don’t think I can proceed without help.  I’m also working 2 jobs and starting a web related business.  I will have less time this winter than I’ve had this summer (But about the same as last winter).  If I don’t do something different, nothing is going to change and I won’t ever have a boat.  So now it’s time for a change.

So here is what I’m going to do:

  1. Give away the Sunfish.  I am keeping the trailer and am considering modifying it to hold 2 sunfish and just buying them in working condition.
  2. Get professional help on the Catalina 22 to
    1. Get the Keel weldments fiberglassed in
    2. Patch a hole in the deck where a cleat was ripped out
    3. Sand and paint the bottom.
  3. Refinish the Catalina 22 Keel myself (probably in the spring)
  4. Do the rest of the Catalina 22 repairs as soon as possible

So stay tuned, but don’t hold your breath for me to be sailing my own boat.  I will, however, be doing other interesting (to me) stuff which of course I’ll write about here.

Part of what slowed me down was twisting my ankle while jogging.  That was 5 weeks ago and I’m just now walking without aid.  I hated using crutches so I got myself an iWalk 2.0 peg leg, which is pretty nice in that you can carry things in your hands, and beats crutches by a long mile, but still isn’t as great as being healthy.

iwalk2.0

iwalk2.0

 

So naturally I was a pirate for Halloween.  Mrs. CapnRehab was my pirate wench!

See the parrot?  That bird is going sailing with me someday.

I'm a pirate

I’m a pirate

 

10 thoughts on “3 Year Anniversary

  1. Nice to have met you as well. Let’s compare notes next spring with our keel weldment projects in our Cat22. You with your ‘professional’ and me, the non professional. I hope you have better success with your first time than I did.

    Another thing I find interesting is that your part of the country is receiving all the snow, while up here in southcentral Alaska, we have no snow to speak of. I want snow so I can enjoy my wintertime passions of snowmachining, skiing and snowshoeing.

    Curtis in Alaska

    • I may not have to go professional and all. I had an offer of help this weekend and am hopeful….

      Also, we’re forecast to get snow tomorrow for the first time. I was amazed to hear that some town in Alaska had warmer temperatures than Tallahassee, Florida!

  2. Sounds like a reasonable plan to me. Sometimes progress is better than pride. There’s no shame in shopping a job out. The best DIYers know their strengths and limitations and seize the opportunity to learn new skills from pros. That’s what I did with my bottom paint job. Part of me wanted to do it myself and keep it pure DIY and I knew I could do it if I had to but I’m glad I didn’t have to. I learned some things from the guys who did it and made a valuable connection there for the future. Even better was that we were able to get back on the water a lot sooner.

    Keep up the great blog. I, for one, will be watching to see each new step of your progress. And rehab that ankle right or with a name like CapnRehab, you’ll have a hard time explaining why you didn’t 😉

    • Me being able to make this mental jump is due in large part to you doing it first. Having an example from someone I respect makes a big difference.

      Ankle is coming along fine.

      Thanks for the kind words about the blog.

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

