Catalina 22 moved to the garage – work to begin soon

Big doings here at the Rehabitat.  The Catalina 22 has a moved.

I wanted to get her inside the garage so I could open her up and start working without worrying about the weather.  This is what I faced on Saturday morning.

Future home of the Catalina 22

Future home of the Catalina 22

After a bunch of moving, re-stacking, organizing, shoving and cramming I got a hole opened up.

Cleared away

Cleared away

Don’t EVEN ask what the rest of the garage looks like now!  Here is a side view so you can see the before/after shot.

Another view of future Catalina work area.

Another view of future Catalina work area.

Yes, that is Big Red the riding lawnmower with the hood up.  He sat too long with a busted starter and now that I’ve put a new starter on, the carb is not letting any gas get to the spark plug.  I’ve been doing a lot of work on him, but since it isn’t boat related I’ve held off posting about it.

With some masterful backing up by yours truly, the Catalina is sitting pretty in her new home.

Catalina waiting to be worked on

Catalina waiting to be worked on

Yes, that’s about 4 inches to spare!  She’s touching the back wall and I had to lower the front end all the way to the floor so I could close the garage door.

The whole trailer couldn’t fit, so I had to completely pull out the trailer extension.  That took a bunch of “Fabulous Blaster”,  a magnetic penetrating lubricant.  It also took quite a few whacks with a sledge hammer.

Trailer extension removed to fit trailer in garage.

Trailer extension removed to fit trailer in garage.

The extension is the black bar sitting on the ground to the left of the trailer.

Yes, it’s exciting times here at the rehabitat.  I’ve already started working on the keel fix, but that’s a story for another day.

 

2 thoughts on “Catalina 22 moved to the garage – work to begin soon

  1. Congratulations, I love the way you’ve embraced this challenge. I look forward to sharing this with you. LOL to all. Emily

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

