Vacation almost over

Last year was pretty tough job-wise, but now the “Job that must not be named” is over.  In celebration  Mrs. CapnRehab  and I spent 10 days in the Florida Keys.  We did a few touristy things, but mostly chilled out and took it easy.

We found a house on Cudjoe Key  using www.homeaway.com.    We’ve used Homeaway 5 or 6 times.  We’ve stayed in Orlando, Indian Rocks Beach FL, Lido California, and now the Florida Keys.  Every time has been way better than staying in a motel – However, if you use it be sure and check it out thoroughly before sending any money.

This was the view from the upper deck on the only evening the wind dropped below 10 mph- to zero.

20140502_200134

This was the view from the lower deck

20140501_095118

We also went kayaking.  I found an abandoned boat fender in the mangrove trees.  Mrs. CapnRehab offered to tow it, but it slowed her down too much so I stuffed it in a cargo bin.  It will come in handy on the Catalina!

 

 

 

20140502_150357

See that sailboat in the background?  It seems pretty normal, but on our way back we went by the front.  The front is not pointed, it’s flat.  Strange.

20140502_172719

We also bicycled around Key West, going to Kermit’s Key West Lime Shoppe where Mrs  CapnRehab had her slice of Key Lime pie and mine too!  (I’m not that big a fan of graham cracker crust in a pie).

20140503_155636

 

We also went snorkeling on a sail/snorkel trip.  I got some video using my GoPro.  Wish me luck turning it into something worth watching.  I took video during the kayak trips, but that will definitely not make it into a movie.  Apparently there is some skill required when filming with a camera mounted on your head.

Here is my first GoPro Movie.  Don’t judge me too harshly.  Click to see a Cudjoe Key Sunrise.

I’m in Orlando another week.  Any of my Tampa buddies that want to get together this week let me know.  I lost everybody’s phone numbers when my phone deleted my address book last year.  Call me soon!

Once I get back home I’ll be starting the Sunfish restoration, so stay tuned for that.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Vacation almost over

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

