Woodworking Rehab

I know it’s not sailing, but it’s the best I can do for now.  Between the “Project that must not be named” to the “Job that must not be named” I’ve been a busy little non-sailor.

What I can show you is a little bit of woodworking that had me buy a couple of new tools and try something I’ve not done before.

I have a room with 4 windows and a large window ledge underneath.  I basically repeated these steps 4 times.   I followed a video explanation from Bob Villa.  Here is a close up of one of the windows:

Window needing a sill

Window needing a sill

Note that I wanted a 1 inch overhang in the front and on both sides.  The first thing I had to do was make a narrow board two inches wider and 1 inch deeper than the sill.  That requires a table saw to narrow the board down the long way.   Since my table saw died, I had to go buy another one.  (that’s tool # 1).  When you cut a board long-wise it is called a “Rip” cut:

Rip Cut on a table saw

Rip Cut on a table saw

Next, the sides of the window opening are not perfectly straight so the angle has to be measured.  To do that I  had to buy this angle measuring tool.  This is a Swanson sliding Bevel. (That’s new tool #2)

 Swanson sliding T-Bevel - measure

Swanson sliding T-Bevel – measure

 Swanson sliding T-Bevel - mark

Swanson sliding T-Bevel – mark

Then it was time to round the edge with a router.  This gives it a nice smooth finished look.  Thanks for the router  bench Dad. (That’s new tool #3)

Using a router

Using a router

Next is cut it to fit with a jig saw.  (not a new tool, I’ve had this forever and used it for everything)

Cut to fit with a jig saw

Cut to fit with a jig saw

Now for a test fit.  That’s a good fit!  Also notice the rounded top front edge and side edges made with the router.

Test fit the window sill

Test fit the window sill

Now for a little trim underneath to make it pop.  This was done with my new miter saw. (That’s new tool #4)

mitering the window trim

mitering the window trim

Here is a wider view of the window with the future sill and trim.  That’s scrap wood stacked underneath the trim holding it up for the picture

Test Fit 2

Test Fit 2

That’s one window.  So repeat 3 more times.  I won’t bore you with those details.

Now for the ledge.  It’s a 14 inch wide shelf, and boards only come in 12″ max width.  So I needed to make .1 wide board out of 2 smaller ones.  Here are the two small ones.

Two Skinny Boards

Two Skinny Boards

Here is the Biscuit Joiner that drills little holes in the sides so you can glue little biscuits between to hold the boards together edgewise.  The hole in the side of the board is the made by the biscuit joiner.  (That’s new tool #5)

Biscuit Joiner

Biscuit Joiner

Here are the cute little biscuits, they go down the length of the board  – I put one about every foot:

Biscuit and glue

Biscuit and glue

Now to put it together.

Waiting for the glue to dry

Waiting for the glue to dry

Then cut to length and rip it on the table saw.  I had to make 3 boards for the U shaped window ledge.  The back of the boards needed a 3/4 x 2 furring strip for support.  I ripped those out of a 2×4.

Furring strips

Furring strips

It all gets nailed with a finish nailer.  (New tool #6)

Finish nailer

Finish nailer

The edges of the ledge were rounded with a router, but this is a hand held one I’ve also had for forever.  Not a new tool.

Rounding the edge

Rounding the edge

Nice edge.

Nice Edge

Nice Edge

Everything in place, almost done

Everything in place

Everything in place

A little wood filler, a little taking it out and starting over, a little caulk, a little taking it out and starting over, a little more caulk, some caulk , white paint, and yellow paint by the son-in-law and wa-la!  Bright like sunshine!  Glad that little mini-project is over!  Now back to the big project.

Ta

Ta

Da!

Da!

Six new tools for CapnRehab!   I feel like the Count on Sesame Street … ha ha ha ha. <evil laugh with a Transylvania accent>

10 thoughts on “Woodworking Rehab

  1. Just finished reading all of your blogs. Some of this stuff is just too funny. Send me your address and I will come visit (just bought a bike so I need an excuse to ride) Would love to sit and catch up and talk about wood, boats, kids, beer & tools.

    • I don’t understand your comment. I basically live at home depot now. I’ve looked at every molding offering they have. I only resorted to doing this after much wandering of their aisles and asking questions. (And yeah, I got to buy some cool tools)

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

