Book Review – Shadow Divers by Robert Kurson

I give this book 3 stars out of 5 – I enjoyed it.

I really liked reading this book and learning about the people and dangers that are in this sort of deep wreck diving.  The difficulties involved and overcome were pretty amazing to learn about.  That people die doing this sport is not surprising given the difficulties involved, and that people continue to do it despite the dangers is pretty incredible.  Once you are drawn to something though, and it speaks to you deep inside I guess you have to go do it.

I find it pretty incredible that people will pay hundreds of dollars, risk their lives, and then spend hours slowing rising to the surface to decompress just to spend 20 minutes or so swimming around a wreck.  That takes real dedication and courage.

The book is more about the two people that were instrumental in exploring the wreck of a submarine and the efforts they went through to identify  it than it is just about deep wreck diving.  I read a lot of history so I was also very interested when they uncovered facts that pointed to errors in accepted accounts of history. I don’t want to do any spoilers, so I’ll end with two things.  First, it’s a really good read and I really enjoyed it.  Second I also saw “Shadow divers exposed” on Amazon, and it makes me curious about what it says about shadow divers.

 

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

