Catalina 22 keel replacement – purchase

Bought the keel yesterday.  It was a small adventure on an absolutely beautiful sunny day.  I got to meet a great guy and he says he’ll guide me if I need help getting through the keel rehab.  Here are a couple of links he suggested.

 

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/catalina22/

 

http://www.catalinadirect.com/forums/fr_topics.cfm?forum_id=98

I have to be able to move the keel around myself, including unloading it once I got home.  I decided to put wheels on the keel pallet and that should let me roll it down the ramp.  So I took everything I could think of that I might need.  Here I have beefed up the pallet with 2×4’s and then added wheels.

pallet mobility enhancement

pallet mobility enhancement

Then he loaded the pallet into Mrs. CapnRehab’s horse trailer.

loading keel

loading keel

A short drive to his house to pick up some parts, and then head for home and unload.  Here is how it looks at the rehabitat.  Yes Charlotte, I got the blue one 🙂

keel in the trailer

keel in the trailer

The best laid plans…  Things didn’t go quite as planned while unloading.  Hit a bump and the wheels stopped but the keel didn’t.  Yanked the nails right out.

wheels fell off

wheels fell off

ALL the wheels came off.   I muscled it over to a temporary pallet so I could repair the wheels.  I’m glad somebody invented the lever.

moving to temp pallet

moving to temp pallet

 

wheels repaired and pallet re-loaded

wheels repaired and pallet re-loaded

It turns out it isn’t that hard to move the keel around one side at a time.  I can’t even pick up one end, but I can slide it over – that’s all I needed.

Soon to be joined….  stay tuned.

Catalina 22 and keel

Catalina 22 and keel

(OK, not so soon, I have a lot of projects going on right now)

Subscribe by email so you don’t miss out!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Catalina 22 keel replacement – purchase

  1. hello, My name is Curtis. I live in Chugiak AK. I recently purchased a 1976 cat 22. I have been successful in replacing 3 of the 4 keel bolts. I managed to snap the head off of the fourth. It is on the starboard side so under the liner. I have tried using an ez out, a left hand drill, etc. I have damaged the weldment and now I need to replace it. I wonder if you ever completed that job yourself for your catalina 22? Would you be willing to share photos, lessons learned, etc. with me? My direct email address is curtistownsend@gmail.com. Thank you very much.

    • Nice to hear from you Curtis. Sorry – I haven’t attempted the keel fix yet. Please let me know how it goes with yours. Let’s keep up the email correspondence.

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

