Hanging Boats

The fall-out from the move is nearing completion.  I am continuing to clear the garage of all the stuff that was unloaded from the storage sheds when we moved.  The plan is to have the 3 garage bays completely clear for 1 car, 1 boat, 1 working space.  Towards that end, I’ve moved the kayaks and windsurfer vertical.

The job was pretty simple.  I got some heavy hooks with rubberized coatings and screwed them into studs.  (I actually have a studfinder that works!)  Then used some rubber straps with adjustable holes so the kayaks are hanging just on the rubber part.

Before:

Kayaks on the floor

Kayaks on the floor

After:

Kayaks on the wall

Kayaks on the wall

The bottom two are pretty easy to get to, but the blue kayak on top is a two person job to get it up there.  I guess that’s OK since the only time I’ll need it is when I’m going kayaking with a second person.

The box at the bottom left of the “after” picture is the car top kayak rack.  I may just leave it in the box right there, or I may wind up hanging it too.  We’ll see.

4 thoughts on “Hanging Boats

  1. very nice! at my old house in Indiana, my garage had enough space above the garage doors that I could hang my old Super Porpoise (a Sunfish clone) above the doors! it was a sweet setup.

    • I just went out and checked. It doesn’t look like there is enough room to do that with mine. Looks like it’s going to have to go back outside once I get the trailer back together.

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

