Are you laughing with me, or at me?

I originally decided to keep this story to myself.  Then, like a dumb*ss, I told my wife.  She laughed.  Hard.

Then I decided to keep it to myself again.  Then, like a bigger dumb*ss, I told my mother.  She laughed.  Hard.  I think she even snorted.

So again, I decided to keep it to myself again.  But then my dedication to my readers got the better of me.  I think I owe it to you for being such loyal readers not to leave out something like this.  (NOTE: If this is the first post of mine you’ve read, then just ignore that last sentence).

So here is what happened.

As you know, I just moved to Maryland and am now living on a farm in Upper Marlboro.  You may not know that this is a 50 acre farm that recently harvested a crop of feed corn.  Apparently the harvest machines aren’t 100% effective, so there is a lot of corn laying about the fields.  There is this roaming flock of birds that has been showing up pretty regularly and giving the field a good chomping.

You might think the birds would clean it out and move on, but they’re always swarming around, landing for a short while, and then boom, they all jump up and fly away.  They never have time to eat much so they keep coming back.

Yesterday I  heard a raucous chirping sound coming from outside.  I went out and it was an even bigger swarm than usual.  Thinking of you, my loyal readers, I ran back inside and grabbed my camera and captured this video from the porch.

While I was looking at the birds and the camera I saw a big chunk of them land in the field behind the trees.  I had the brilliant dumb*ss idea that I would run over there and make them all fly away, getting some great video.

Remember that bit about the porch?  It is important.  Without looking down, I just ran off the porch forgetting there was a 2 foot drop.  Mom imagines I looked something like Wile E. Coyote just before he falls into the Grand Canyon.

wile-e-coyote

wile-e-coyote

Fortunately for me, the camera was not recording so I don’t have to show you that too.

While she was laughing, my mom suggested that since I didn’t get video I should stage a reenactment.  Get Mrs. CapnRehab to hold the camera and then I run off the porch and fall down while she films it.  I’m pretty sure this is when she snorted.

I think she was laughing at me.

11 thoughts on “Are you laughing with me, or at me?

    • Glad you enjoyed it – anything for my readers. I miss all you Boca Ciega friends too. At a work party this week I got to tell the story of how we lost the keel. It was fun remembering. Study hard, I have full confidence you can do it.

    • That was the first thing I checked. You would have heard something like…”oh crap.. umpf! … ouch that hurt…. ugh … was the camera on? no.. good… ouch that hurt” That pretty much gets the gist of it. You can fill in the rest.

  1. Too funny! Made me think of the movie “Groundhog Day”! You ever see it? Needle-Nose Ned says: “Watch that first step, it’s a doozie!’ lol!

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

