CapnRehab’s windsurfer is operational

I purchased a windsurfer on craigslist.  It is really old and missing a mast, so I got it for $50.  It sat around on my back porch and remained on my “I should do” list for the last few months.   I figured I should go ahead and get the mast before I move, because parts may be harder to find up in the fridid north Maryland.

Last weekend when I flippedsailed the catamaran I finally had one guy look at my sail and the fitting that connects the mast to the board.  He said come by the shop and he could set me up with a mast and modify the connector for $400.  ouch!   I needed to find an alternate source

Yesterday was “Get a windsurfer mast” day.  I headed over to WaterSportsWest and talked to the owner Steve.

watersports west

watersports west

Steve was great!  He spent about an hour and a half showing me different options and setting up the board to go.  His guess was that this board is from the late 80’s to early 90’s.   I used to have one I got sometime in ’82 or ’83.  This one looks a lot like it.  So I got all rigged up for $260.  I got a mast,  a mast base with extension, a connector to hook the base to the board, a boom and sail battens.  What a difference in attitude from the other guy.  If you’re in St. Pete and need to buy or rent anything for water sports, this is the place to go.  They’ll even deliver rentals.

Since it is Florida and of course Sunny and warm I decided to take it out sailing.

Since my backyard is a beach on Boca Ciega Bay, I went there.

2012-11-17 16.25.08 Colorful sail

2012-11-17 16.25.08 Colorful sail

2012-11-17 16.21.18 CapnRehab Sailing a windsurfer

2012-11-17 16.21.18 CapnRehab Sailing a windsurfer

Sailing a windsurfer for the first time in almost 30 years!  It was harder than I remembered!

2012-11-17 16.30.34 returning to shore

2012-11-17 16.30.34 returning to shore

For some reason, it felt like I needed to stand way forward on the board.  You can see in the picture above that my left foot is in front of the mast and my right foot is just behind it.  But the board has foot straps for the right foot that are way back near the end of the board.  I haven’t quite figured that one out.

2012-11-17 16.22.19 Sailing

2012-11-17 16.22.19 Sailing

Here is a video – not that impressive but it’s me on a windsurfer.

And after the water fun, it was time to relax on the beach with  my favorite adult beverage and watch the sunset.  After dark we even had a campfire.

2012-11-17 17.27.39 Sunset

2012-11-17 17.27.39 Sunset

2012-11-17 17.37.53 Boca Ciega Sky

2012-11-17 17.37.53 Boca Ciega Sky

6 thoughts on “CapnRehab’s windsurfer is operational

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

