Sunfish Deck Hardware stripped off

I spent some time getting hardware off the boat to get ready for resurfacing.  I started at the front:

Bow Handle Before

Bow Handle Before

Notice that it was already broken before removal.  When I moved it home I grabbed the handle and lifted.  Only the part of the handle came up.

Bow Handle After

Bow Handle After

Mainsheet pulley before

Mainsheet pulley before

Mainsheet pulley after

Mainsheet pulley after

Traveler before

Traveler before

closeup starboard traveler before

closeup starboard traveler before

closeup starboard traveler - after

closeup starboard traveler – after

closeup port traveler before

closeup port traveler before

Closeup port traveler after

Closeup port traveler after

wave diverter before

wave diverter before

wave diverter after

wave diverter after

Sunfish Gudgeon Bracket

Sunfish Gudgeon Bracket

Mainsheet cleat before

Mainsheet cleat before

Mainsheet cleat current

Mainsheet cleat current

This last one got me.  The screws are just turning, and I tried prying it out but it isn’t working.  I need to drill them out but that’s going to require a trip to Home Depot.

2 thoughts on “Sunfish Deck Hardware stripped off

  1. Wow, looks like you’re going to be doing a major overhaul! Can you access the bottom of the mainsheet cleat screws under the cockpit lip?

    Have you found a source for new/replacement parts yet? I’ve had good luck with Intensity Sails. He has a bow handle for $20 (versus $30 at most places).

    Good luck with the project!
    Cheers,
    my2fish

    • See the next blog post about the cleat screws for that answer. I haven’t been looking for replacement parts yet, but I guess I should go ahead and order them so when I finish the hull/deck repairs I’ll be ready. Thanks for the tip, I’ll check out Intensity sails.

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

