6th straight day of sailing – racing!

For my sixth day of sailing I went to the Davis Island Yacht club just south of Tampa.  I had heard there were a lot of boats, but I was completely unprepared for the madhouse of people going out.  People were parking way down the road and hiking back to the club.  I was doing something new and different, and again was a little nervous.  I really didn’t know what to expect.

Davis Island is directly south of Tampa and juts out into Tampa Bay.

Davis Island Yacht Club

Davis Island Yacht Club

I was told to go up to the bartender and say I was looking for a boat. So, that’s what I did. He announced into a microphone “Crew looking for boat” and within about 10 seconds there were two captains there looking to pick me up. I went with the first guy that showed and he told me to meet him at the boat. I went back to the truck, got some beer and a sandwich and then ate on the veranda looking over the bay. Very nice.

There must have been over 60 boats. The races were starting every 4 minutes and we were in the 4th or 5th wave.  We crossed the starting line second, passed the leader going to the first mark, and then led the pack for the entire race.  We caught up to some boats ahead of us, and then the J-24 boats passed us.

I didn’t think there was much chance of going in the drink, so I took my phone and got these shots.  Comments are below the pictures.

Before heading out.

 

2012-06-14 Waiting for race to start

2012-06-14 Waiting for race to start

Waiting for the race to start

Everybody pops one on the downwind leg.  Looks like CapnRehab is drinking too many beers and not working out enough!

J-24 boats pass us on the downwind leg using their spinnaker sails.  Very pretty.

After rounding the second mark

Not sure when this was taken

So that sums up the sailing extravaganza.  6 days of sailing, 3 races, came in first in all 3 races.  Wow, I’m tired….

 

 

6 thoughts on “6th straight day of sailing – racing!

  1. Everybody pops one on the downwind leg. Looks like CapnRehab is drinking too many beers and not working out enough! Saw the picture first and was thinking the same thing then I read the caption!!! Y
    ou beat me to saying this….LOL

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

