Sail on the “Southern Lady”

See, all that time helping out Phil and Laura paid off.  I got to go out with them yesterday (Sunday).  The original plan was to help him work on the engine and then go out, but Laura decided she didn’t want to be there when there was engine work going on, so we just sailed.   Rats, you mean I don’t get to be all smelly and dirty and just have to sail?  Well… OK, if I have to.

2012-06-10 Heading out

2012-06-10 Heading out

I think Phil is amazing.  The Southern Lady is his first sailboat.  He bought it thinking it was ready to sail and found out it needed a lot of work.  Three months of daily grind at the yard and now it’s back in the water and sailing.  Today was his first time out on her without someone to hold his hand.  You sure can’t consider me an old salt by any means!  He said the whole time he was out there he was thinking about how much trouble he was going to have backing into his narrow slip.   Too bad for him.  I didn’t have to do it, so I got to enjoy my time out.

2012-06-10 under sail

2012-06-10 under sail

After a while, he told me to take over.  So I did <smile>.

2012-06-10 Me driving!

2012-06-10 Me driving!

Big boats handle differently than the little ones I’ve been spending my time on.  They are definitely slower to respond, but I think they can take a lot more wind.  For a while there was very little wind and we were barely moving.  As the afternoon wore on it picked up and by the time we came in it was blowing pretty hard, although I don’t have a measurement for you.

2012-06-10 Home Sweet Home

2012-06-10 Home Sweet Home

Going back to the marina I can always see home.  It seemed closer when I took the picture.

Someday, I’ll be on a boat that goes out of the little protected bay I’ve come to know and love.

boca ciega bay to gulf

boca ciega bay to gulf

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

