Trailer axle rehab

The axle of the trailer is solid steel.  It didn’t look so great, but the trailer shop guy said I was lucky to have it and that I should be able to get it repaired just fine.  Here is what it looked like to start.

2012-04-21 Axle before rehab

2012-04-21 Axle before rehab

I went to Home Depot and bough a wire brush and attached it to my angle grinder.  Took off the wheels and went to work knocking the rust off.

 

angle grinder with wire brush attacking rust

angle grinder with wire brush attacking rust

Here is a close up:

rust close up

rust close up

After grinding, I treated it with a rust remover and sealer.  It’s called “Purple Power” De-Ruster.  It has the consistency of water and you just paint it on with a brush.  You have to let it dry 24 hours for tough jobs.  I never knew there was something like this.  Part of the problem of attempting something like this is I really don’t know what to do.  I just keep talking to people with experience and asking advice.  Sometimes you get too much, or conflicting advice.  Then you just have to make an educated guess.  The internet is a wonderful place full of LOTS of information.

Purple Power De-Ruster

Purple Power De-Ruster

After the De-Ruster, the axle looked like this.

Axle after treatment

Axle after treatment

and here is another close up:

Closeup after de-ruster

Closeup after de-ruster

I will need to grind off any rust on the rest of the trailer, paint it with Purple Power, and then spray on some “Cold Galvanize” to keep it from aquiring another beautiful orange sheen of rust.  I also have to identify, source, and buy all the bolts that hold it together.  However, I think I will be able to keep the sailboat on my back porch and won’t actually need the trailer.  Since I’m so close to the beach I should be able to drag it out there when I want to use it.  I may be able to make some kind of dolly to help me get the boat to the beach.   Stay tuned….

 

 

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

