Non-boat rehab

As I mentioned in the last post, CapnRehab has been busy doing non-boat things.  Last weekend’s adventure was replacing front brakes and rotors on a 2003 Toyota Sequoia.  Here is the repair in progress:

2003 Toyota brake and rotor repair

2003 Toyota brake and rotor repair

I had to remove a support screw clamping down the brake line.  It broke.  Guess what?  When I did the other side, it broke too!  Thank you so much Toyota Engineers!   I drilled out the remnants of the screw (it only took 3 drill bits.  apparently you should drill slow and use some kind of oil – how are you supposed to know this stuff?)    Sorry I don’t have finished product pictures, but partially complete will have to do.

broken screw

broken screw

drilling out the broken screw

drilling out the broken screw

brake pads installed

brake pads installed

Also, I’m sad to say that little red, the “little lawnmower that could” is out of commission.  His drive belt broke.  There are two, the one shown in the picture didn’t break, but you can see it isn’t looking too good, so I decided to replace them both.

Little Red Drive Belt

Little Red Drive Belt

Unfortunately, I didn’t complete the job.  Although Mrs. CapnRehab searched through the bin at Home Depot and actually found the replacement, I couldn’t get it on the driveshaft.  It looks like I’ll have to remove the drive belt pulleys, slip on the belt and then put the pulleys back on.   I did find a video on youtube showing how to do it but it does seem a bit much.

Removing a pulley from a briggs and stratton motor

It goes against my grain, but I may have to pay to have it done.  That sure is a slippery slope.  Next thing you know I’ll be paying someone to change the oil in my truck…. wait a minute – I already do that!

Happily things are back to normal (sort of) so here is a Boca Ciega Bay sunset picture for your enjoyment.

2012-05-03 Boca Ceiga Bay Sunset

2012-05-03 Boca Ceiga Bay Sunset

One thought on “Non-boat rehab

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

