Busy Weekend Part 1 – Fishing at Fort Desoto

Fishing is apparently a nice skill to have while cruising, so when I’m not working, sailing, or rehabbing, I’ll probably be fishing.

I used to be fish crazy when I was a kid.  Once I joined the Boy Scouts I got to go fishing a LOT!  Got me into trouble sometime when I went when I wasn’t supposed to.

So Saturday morning I went to Fort Desoto park.  It is situated overlooking the water where Tampa Bay joins the Gulf of Mexico.  I arranged to meet a new friend from work there.  I picked Fort DeSoto because my neighbor told me the parking was free.  NOT SO gentle readers.  $5 bucks to get into the park!  Almost as bad as paying for parking on the beaches around here, but not quite.  I’ll figure out how to get beach time without spending a fortune.  I’ll keep you posted on this one.

I originally planned to do some beach fishing, but there is this convenient fishing pier sticking right out into the gulf.  Here is the view from the top of the Fort.

Fort DeSoto Pier

Fort DeSoto Pier

I wound up being on the pier 3 or 4 hours.  In the time I was there, only 1 keeper was caught by anyone on the pier!  It is a mackerel, supposedly good eats.  Someday I’ll find out.

mackerel

mackerel

Here is the fish I caught.  I used him as a bait fish, but it didn’t help.

Catch of the day

Catch of the day

I also managed to sunburn the tops of my feet through the gaps in my sandals.  Remember kids, you CAN get a sunburn in Florida when the clouds are blocking the sun. (end public service announcement)

2 thoughts on “Busy Weekend Part 1 – Fishing at Fort Desoto

    • Thanks. I’ll figure it out. Then you’ll be LOLing in your soup as I savor my freshly caught … whatever. Plus I guess I need to learn how to cook them too. So much to do, so little time.

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

