Joining a Yacht Club

Even though I don’t have a boat yet, I’m joining the Boca Ciega Yacht Club.
http://www.sailbcyc.org/

Everyone I’ve met so far has been very friendly, and they all point out that they are not an exclusive kind of club.  That’s good, because as most of you know – CapnRehab is definitely NOT upper crust!

I’ve already been introduced to the board but won’t be able to be voted in at the general meeting till mid-April.  Then I’ll be a full member.

They have a fleet of Catalina Capri 16.5’s that I’m itching to get my hands on.  Unfortunately I’ll have to get certified to take them out by myself and that may take awhile.  Till then I’ll be dependent on the good will of other memebers to take me out with them.

This past weekend the club was offering free sailing to the public, and I had my heart set on catching some wind.  Unfortunately, mother nature indulged in too much wind.  They cancelled the event for a measly 35 mph wind speed.  You can rest assured, CapnRehab was ready to go out!  I guess most of the general public is not so hearty.

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

