What did I do?

I sold the boat. Captain rehab is boatless!

As you capn rehab followers well know, the capn is headed south for his new job in Tampa. I have been using my old friend craigslist to unload a lot of stuff. I got rid of the O’Day 23′, a weight set, a treadmill, and now my beloved O’Day 22′. She is going to have a new life and home in Tennessee!

Why you might ask? Lots of reasons against keeping her. The trailer wasn’t really in shape to make the trip to Florida. I didn’t have time to get it done before I go. I’m living in a temporary situation for a while, and won’t have a place for a boat & trailer. Starting a new job, need to focus on that a bit. The list goes on and on.

I’ve heard that old saying, “The two happiest days of a boat owners like are the day he buys it, and the day he sells it”. Not true! I am sad. However, they do say that every door that closes causes a new one to open. Now I’m back in boat buying mode! That was so fun before. I think I’m going to look for a boat arround 30′ to 35′ and do a rehab. I want to get one big enough to live aboard comfortably and to do some cruising.  It will be a while I think, but you never know!  I’m also thinking about joining a sailing club so I can get some sailing skills and possibly certifications.  We’ll see how that goes.

I’m sure you were too polite to ask, where would I be living in Tampa? Well, I have found something. Where? On craigslist of course! (By the way, did I mention I found my job on craigslist?) Anyhow, I put out a craigslist advertisement looking for a live-aboard boat. Guess what? I found one! Here is a picture of the model of boat I’ll be living on.

1996 silverton 40

1996 silverton 40'

I haven’t seen the actual boat yet, but if it’s a dump I can always stay in an extended stay motel till I get something more permanent.  Also, it’s going to be just off Clearwater beach.  I am SO looking forward to running on the beach again!

2 thoughts on “What did I do?

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

