Book Review – “The Motion of the Ocean” by Janna Cawrse Esarey

Subtitled “1 small boat, 2 average lovers, and a woman’s search for the meaning of wife”.

This is about a BHAG.  A “B“ig  “A“** “H“airy “G“oal.  It chronicles a decision by a newlywed couple to quit their jobs and take a two year trip around the Pacific Rim.  The trip begins in Oregon and goes counter-clockwise around the Ocean.  Through a nice series of forward travels and flashbacks to key points in their relationship the wife discovers her love of writing and explores what it means to her to be in a marriage.  I read the first chapter on Amazon, and it caught my interest enough to buy the book.  You’ll have to read it yourself to find out if they make it.

I’m mostly interested in books about sailing right now.  At first I thought this was a sailing book.  But it’s not.  The book covers it’s topics in relation to the number of words in it’s subtitle.  That probably wasn’t very clear.   Let me try again.  There’s 15 words in the subtitle.  They break down like this:

  • “1 small boat” –  so it’s about 3/15 = 20% boats
  • “2 average lovers” – 3 words out of 15 words = 20% about average lovers
  • “and a woman’s search for the meaning of wife” – 9 words / 15 = 60% about PROCESSING what happens

ARGH!

Now, I did read the whole thing.  And it is written pretty well.  I just got bored with some of the topics.  OK, a lot of the topics.  A lot of time is spent worrying about not having things to talk about.  Argh again!  I’ve been married almost 24 years and it just isn’t an issue for us.  If we have something to talk about, we talk.  If we don’t, then we don’t.  Most of the time we do.  It works.

Sometimes like now I wish Netflix had a rating between 2-didn’t like it, and 3-liked it.  Using a rating SIMILAR to Netflix’s 5 star rating,  this would fall between (2-didn’t like it) and (3-liked it).  On this one, I fall right in the middle.  It was just OK.  I’m sure lots of women will love this book.   Wish I hadn’t bought it.  Sorry Janna.  It doesn’t go to my Amazon book store.

3 thoughts on “Book Review – “The Motion of the Ocean” by Janna Cawrse Esarey

  1. I don’t get the Netflix reference w/r/t a book. You do it again later too – does Netflix have a section to it that I have never seen where you rent and review books?

      • No need to stop – just trying to understand it!
        I also have a tough time with the Netflix system – middle of the road is “like it” and below that is “didn’t like it” – they need the middle to be “Eh” or “It was OK”. 😉

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

