Winterizing – Bilge

I went looking to pull the bilge pump. The hose was easy to follow  till it went under the center of the cockpit. No way to get to it without some
disassembly. There is no way the previous owner did this, so it’s made it  through at least 3 new jersey winters as is. I’m not going to worry about it.

By the way, I may be wrong, but I don’t know of a reason to have  so much extra hose laying in the compartment.  Why not cut it to the right size?

Last, I took out the gas can. It was stored in the bin right  behind this bilge pump hose. The bin is grungy from oil and gas spills and the  fumes were bad. I think I’m going to put it at the rear of the cockpit and  build a frame for it. I saw a picture somewhere of this, and I like the idea of  putting of an explosive fuel where it can ventilate and not stink up the living  quarters. HOWEVER, this may take up vital room in the cockpit.

Opinions on this would be greatly appreciated.

Hose to bilge pump

Hose to bilge pump

2 thoughts on “Winterizing – Bilge

  1. Awesome! I’m going to do it. I guess I can glass over the hole in the stern where the gas line goes into the seat compartment? I think the post I saw built some kind of slatted cover to keep the can out from underfoot. Wish I could remember where I saw that.

    Thanks for following along. I can sure use some advice.

  2. I have a ’74 O’day 22 and I keep the gas can in the cockpit below the tiller. You really don’t miss the space because of where the tiller is, you can’t sit here when sailing anyways.

Leave a reply, would love to hear from you!

